Mesa Verde – Farewells and Photo Facts

photography, travel, mesa verde national parknebraska photographs
Having now completed this 16-day photo assignment for the National Park Service at Mesa Verde National Park I’ve just returned to my studio in Ohio. I am deeply grateful to the National Park Service and both the staff and rangers at the park for the honor of serving as artist in residence and for their generous help in making my stay so comfortable and rewarding.

     Frequently I’m asked about what long term photo assignments like this involve, especially things like the number of photographs made, hours worked, etc. Since I keep detailed records of these things, here is a chart of Quick Facts about this 16-day assignment.
make video from photographs

     Besides photographing, an hour or two each day is spent working on this blog. Since starting at Mesa Verde, I posted a total of 17 blog entries (7,500 words), 72 photographs, 4 slideshows, 3 interactive panoramas and 1 time-lapse movie. It is also my hope during the next few months to use those photographs and movies to create a 3-4 minute music video about the park that will appear here on the blog.

     In closing, Mesa Verde National Park is a national treasure that recognizes the ingenuity, perseverance, culture and spirit of early native people. A visit to the park will leave memories that last a lifetime. It is also a place filled with breathtaking landscapes, amazing plant/animal life and stunning colors. The park is located one hour from the nearest airport in Durango, Colorado, and within a day’s drive from larger cities like Albuquerque, NM (4 hours) or Colorado Springs, CO (6 hours). For more information on the park, visit Mesa Verde’s official website (click here) and if you go, please drop me an email and photo to tell me about your experience.
panorama photography tips

  1. July 7, 2012 at 5:23 pm | #1

    I’m impressed! Great Job my friend!!!

    • rickbraveheart
      July 8, 2012 at 9:34 pm | #2

      Campfireshadows thanks so much for the kind words and for following along on the journey at Mesa Verde. It’s nice having you following along.

  2. July 7, 2012 at 6:48 pm | #3

    We enjoyed Mesa Verde last summer on our family camping trip – loved the area!

    • rickbraveheart
      July 8, 2012 at 9:33 pm | #4

      Melody: What a great legacy you might have started by making it a family adventure. In my weeks at the park I met several dozen people who had visited the park as a child when they were on a family vacation and the memories of that visit were so strong that when they became adults themselves they decided to their own children there to experience it too.

  3. di
    July 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm | #5

    Your willingness and expertise in sharing your experiences and knowledge are truly appreciated.
    Each artistic creation that we view or read of yours is a gift. Thank you for your sharing all of this with us!

    • rickbraveheart
      July 8, 2012 at 9:48 pm | #6

      Di: I so very much appreciate your beautiful comment on the blog and the photography. And, I can’t tell you enough how much it serves to energize and inspire that work by having great people like you following along on all these adventures and posting comments along the way. It truly makes a difference.

  4. July 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm | #7

    Good work! Thank you for sharing.

    • rickbraveheart
      July 8, 2012 at 9:28 pm | #8

      Joan: Thanks for your kind words about the blog. I so much enjoy reading your Coastalcrone blog and truly appreciate you taking the time to visit here.

  5. July 8, 2012 at 7:03 pm | #9

    I’m sad to say we have yet to visit Mesa Verde NP. You have definitely piqued our interest. Thanks!

    • rickbraveheart
      July 8, 2012 at 9:27 pm | #10

      Ingrid: Mesa Verde is an absolutely amazing place to visit and explore, and not far from where you had some of your most recent adventures at Rocky Mountain and Lake Powell. I think you two would really enjoy it. Thanks for your comment.

  6. July 10, 2012 at 1:51 pm | #11

    Hey Rick! Just wanted to let you know that I’ve been enjoying your blog and your beautiful shots… and so I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. :) You can check it out and the bottom of the post here: :)
    http://iwtkangaroo.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/choosing-an-australian-bank-account/

  7. July 12, 2012 at 10:08 am | #12

    This sounds a wonderful place to visit.. and look forward to your future video presentation.
    While I have never been to the USA, I have spent some time in Canada, and just loved being in the Vastness of Nature..
    Taking photo’s of such spectacular countryside must be wonderful.. Thank you for sharing ~

    • rickbraveheart
      July 15, 2012 at 6:37 am | #13

      Sue: I’m so pleased you enjoyed the post on Mesa Verde. It’s an extraordinary place not only for its landscape, cliff dwellings and ruins, but also that it still stands 1,000 years later as a tribute to an ingenious group of native people who lived there. There are several other places like it in the USA that are close by. If you ever plan a trip here, drop me a note and I’ll send you a list.

      • July 15, 2012 at 2:16 pm | #14

        Thank you that is so kind.. We did a coast to coast tour in 2000 across Canada.. You never know when the USA will call.. My Husband has always wanted to visit the Grand Canyon.. And I have always felt connected to the First Nations People.. Many thanks for taking time to reply.. ~Sue

  8. July 28, 2012 at 1:17 pm | #15

    Okay, you make photography look so easy but your stats tell a different story. But when I see your passion I can only assume that work and play get blurred for you. Thanks for your fun work and hard play.
    Pat

    • July 28, 2012 at 2:02 pm | #16

      Great comment about the statistics I post from my multi-week photo shoots in the backcountry or national parks at. Pat. When I’m out in Nature with the camera it’s like being with a best friend you haven’t seen for a very long time. The more you start catching up the more time you want to continue spending together. When I’m in Nature, she constantly gifts me with so much beauty that, at the end of the day, when it’s time to sleep, I pick up the camera again and head out to see what other surprises she has in store. :-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Type your comment here

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

