Home > Colorado, Mesa Verde National Park, National Parks, Other > No Electricity! Petroglyphs Coming Tuesday July 3rd

No Electricity! Petroglyphs Coming Tuesday July 3rd

photography, travel, trees, mesa verde national parkcolorado trees travel photographs
Due to a severe wind and lightning storm yesterday, there’s been no electrical power or internet service available to post todays update. I’ve now made arrangements for internet access tomorrow in order to post that next entry which features Mesa Verde’s famous petroglyphs and a slide show of images. Please stop back then.
colorado trees travel photographs

       I’ll Be Back Tomorrow. Won’t You?
colorado trees travel photographs
Please stop back tomorrow, July 3rd for the next update from Mesa Verde.



______
Posted via Cell Phone


  1. July 3, 2012 at 9:52 pm | #1

    Old Man is in many tribes stories. Some are very funny when the trickster is involved. I spoke in an earlier comment of the sky people, (the Sspommitapiiksi). I was reading the Hebrews book of Enoch recently and was stunned when I read the same story of the sky people or fallen angles created by Naapi (God) that came and took for themselves the women on the earth. I believe many stories we call legends today are based on past fact.

    • rickbraveheart
      July 4, 2012 at 1:16 pm | #2

      I absolutely agree Campfireshadows that many ‘legends’ especially ancient ones were based on actual events. People then had a deep connection to the Earth & Nature. Growing up Native America I learned early about a Spirit that lives in all things—not just people but animals, trees, flowers and even rocks. When you carry that respect into the forest or a group of animals, for example, you often have experiences or see things that are hard to explain without people thinking it’s a “story.” I suspect it’s also why people frequently comment in exhibitions of my work that they’ve never seen a forest (or rock, tree, or a flower) look quite like that before.

      Since I think you’ll find it equally as interesting, you might want to take a peek at a photo series I did of animal and human shaped rock formations in the Badlands of the Southwest titled Standing With the Ancient Ones. All these images, like the one shown below, were made on what was once Native land. Clicking here will take you to the 4-part series and also a virtual photo exhibition.

      Spirit Warrior
      Photographed at Bisti Wilderness Area, New Mexico

      bisti wilderness area photographs

      • July 4, 2012 at 2:54 pm | #3

        I once commented to a fellow blogger who raises North Dakota horses (Nokotahorse) that whenever I see an Appaloosa horse, my neck hairs tingle as if my spirit is rejoicing. I am Christian yet I can ‘feel’ spirits and know when they are near. Some watch over me some watch over the place I am walking. I don’t call this a contradiction, instead I call it a gift. I will look at your photo’s tonight. Thank you my friend :)

      • rickbraveheart
        July 4, 2012 at 3:19 pm | #4

        I hope you enjoy the photos of the rock formations but be prepared because those “neck hairs” might start tingling.

      • July 6, 2012 at 9:11 am | #5

        I left a comment somewhere, not sure where after seeing your photos. You have the eye for sure :)

      • rickbraveheart
        July 6, 2012 at 3:01 pm | #6

        Thanks for the great comments on the photos Campfireshadows, but it’s those rock formations that deserve all the credit. Also, you will find the post you mentioned and my reply on a different post: just click here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Type your comment here

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

